OrthoTrac: Setting Up Patient Flow Text-Based Staff Displays

Document created by tshaw Employee on Apr 11, 2016Last modified by prcarter on May 10, 2016
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

If your office uses the Staff - Text-Based display option, staff members see a row of destination icons, a grid of patients and their locations, and the light bar, if enabled.
     Note: The light bar can be disabled on individual machines by selecting the Do not display light bar on this workstation option on the Light Bar Options tab of the Patient Flow Setup and Maintenance window.
The row of icons at the top of the window indicates the destinations to which you can move a patient from this workstation.

     Note: You do not have to use all destinations. Your office practices determine the destinations in your patient flow setup.
If a destination icon is displayed in the window, you can move any patient to that destination. When a patient is moved to a new location, the patient may no longer be visible on your screen, depending on the display setup you selected on the Locations tab of the Patient Flow Setup and Maintenance window.
If you have enabled the New Patient Alert feature, a tone plays when a patient scheduled for a New Patient appointment type is moved from “Not Here” to another location in the Patient Flow window.
Depending on the selections you made on the Grid Setup tab of the Patient Flow Setup and Maintenance window, some or all of the following information about your patients for the day can be displayed:
Click once on a heading to sort the list of patients by that heading type. For example, to sort the list by appointment time, click the Apt Tm header. Click the header twice to return to the original sort method. A small arrow next to the heading indicates the method currently used to sort the list.
Each patient is color-coded according to location (as set in the Patient Flow Setup and Maintenance window).
If you have enabled the Warning Information System, the Location and Status columns flash if either the patient or staff has broken the time constraints set up in the General Options tab of the Patient Flow Setup and Maintenance window.
The Location column flashes if the office has broken the time constraints.
     Note: The “Not Here” location does not flash.
The Status column flashes if the patient has broken the time constraints.
An asterisk (*) beside the patient name indicates that the patient has a patient comment attached to his check-in record. Patient comments display on the Patient Flow Name Verification window as Special Instructions.
A plus sign beside the patient name indicates that the patient has a staff comment attached to his check-in record.
An @ symbol beside the patient name indicates that the patient has a check-in message attached to his chart and must be checked in manually.
Comments can be changed and viewed in the Change Patient’s Location window.
These command buttons at the bottom of the window enable you to customize the patient flow display:
• Earlier Appts
• Maintenance
• Add Patient
• Close
• Later Appts


Right-Click Menu
Right-clicking on a patient’s name opens a menu with the following options: Change Location, Change Comments, Charting, Orthodontic Imaging, Patient Checkout, Open Patient Chart, Execute Questionnaire, or Cancel.
TIP:
The Patient Checkout and Execute Questionnaire options are not available when using the patient flow module from the point-of-care module.
• You must have purchased the additional modules to open them using the right-click menu.

1 person found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes