cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
paularyfa
Premolar III

SCHEDULE DELETIONS - HELP!

Jump to solution

A staff member was trying to delete a week in June 2021 and accidently put June 20, 2020-June 21, 2021 as the date parameters.  And like that POOF it's all gone.  Two questions.  

1.  How can it allow the deletion of days that have already occurred?

2.  Why can't they restore my backup to fix this?   I understand that if I take a backup, I lose data entered post backup, but that's less than a year's worth of data. 

3.  Anyone else scared this was too easy to lose info?

4.  I'm having a terrible, terrible day.  Thx to all trying to help. 

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anon
Not applicable

Re: SCHEDULE DELETIONS - HELP!

Jump to solution

Good day Paula ( @paularyfa ),

We definitely sympathize with you; no one likes to have information lost, even if it was due to a genuine accident like this.  I know that Cloud support restored your backup yesterday to resolve this issue, as you requested.  I will address your questions individually. 

1.  The Remove Days function allows you to remove ANY day from the calendar -- days in the past, or days in the future.  This is by design.  Clients must have a way to remove days that were added by mistake, or which they no longer wish to appear on the schedule.  We cannot block the removal of past days, which are only intended as a visual record of the appointments that were held on that day in any case  (removing the schedule days does not delete the appointment history for those days, it only deletes the visual view of that schedule day). 

2.  We did indeed restore your full backup to correct this issue, but we also offered the option of restoring only the appointments to the future days for you, a process which would have been much quicker than having the entire Cloud backup restored.  I understand that you chose not to do this because this process would not restore the already-past days, which is of course your choice.

3.  I am not sure what you mean by "easy to lose info".  Orthotrac produces a first warning as soon as you click on the Remove Days button:

prcarter_0-1611152455875.png

This is your first notification that you need to be careful with the dates that you enter.  If you select Yes to proceed, and enter a date range which includes future dates, you receive a second warning:

prcarter_2-1611152551519.png

Only after you click Yes to this second warning will the days be removed. 

If you have suggestions on changing or improving the process, I will be happy to pass them along to Development, but the software does give you two warnings before removing any days. 

I hope the rest of your new year goes much more smoothly after this.  Please let me know if you have any additional questions. 

Regards,

Phil Carter / OrthoTrac Escalations

View solution in original post

5 Replies
jenespanet
Canine III

Re: SCHEDULE DELETIONS - HELP!

Jump to solution
This sounds like a nightmare, I'm so sorry. I feel like I've been having a terrible month. Stay strong!
0 Kudos
Reply
paularyfa
Premolar III

Re: SCHEDULE DELETIONS - HELP!

Jump to solution

HURRAY FOR ESCALATIONS! They were great, quick, and restored our self-inflicted nightmare in record time.  THANK YOU!! 

Anon
Not applicable

Re: SCHEDULE DELETIONS - HELP!

Jump to solution

Good day Paula ( @paularyfa ),

We definitely sympathize with you; no one likes to have information lost, even if it was due to a genuine accident like this.  I know that Cloud support restored your backup yesterday to resolve this issue, as you requested.  I will address your questions individually. 

1.  The Remove Days function allows you to remove ANY day from the calendar -- days in the past, or days in the future.  This is by design.  Clients must have a way to remove days that were added by mistake, or which they no longer wish to appear on the schedule.  We cannot block the removal of past days, which are only intended as a visual record of the appointments that were held on that day in any case  (removing the schedule days does not delete the appointment history for those days, it only deletes the visual view of that schedule day). 

2.  We did indeed restore your full backup to correct this issue, but we also offered the option of restoring only the appointments to the future days for you, a process which would have been much quicker than having the entire Cloud backup restored.  I understand that you chose not to do this because this process would not restore the already-past days, which is of course your choice.

3.  I am not sure what you mean by "easy to lose info".  Orthotrac produces a first warning as soon as you click on the Remove Days button:

prcarter_0-1611152455875.png

This is your first notification that you need to be careful with the dates that you enter.  If you select Yes to proceed, and enter a date range which includes future dates, you receive a second warning:

prcarter_2-1611152551519.png

Only after you click Yes to this second warning will the days be removed. 

If you have suggestions on changing or improving the process, I will be happy to pass them along to Development, but the software does give you two warnings before removing any days. 

I hope the rest of your new year goes much more smoothly after this.  Please let me know if you have any additional questions. 

Regards,

Phil Carter / OrthoTrac Escalations

View solution in original post

paularyfa
Premolar III

Re: SCHEDULE DELETIONS - HELP!

Jump to solution

I've encouraged her to not delete anymore days.  Not even certain why it was handled like that.  Editing the day would have been safer and actually more useful.  This isn't the first time either. I was under the impression that I lost more info than I did from the deletion of schedule. Thx for clarifying. Also THANK YOU for the restoration. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Anon
Not applicable

Re: SCHEDULE DELETIONS - HELP!

Jump to solution

Good day Paula ( @paularyfa ),

If you feel this has been an ongoing issue for a specific user, you may want to consider limiting access to Schedule Maintenance in Security to only those staff that you feel can be trusted to properly remove days from the schedule.  This can be done by going to Functions, Maintenance/Setup, Security, then selecting "By Staff" and choosing the staff member for whom you wish to limit access to the function.  Select the Maintenance radio button and set the option for Schedule Maintenance to "No" for that user and they will be prevented from accessing it in future. 

Preventing access to Schedule Maintenance itself does not prevent users from editing existing schedule days to change blockouts or colors.  

Regards,

Phil Carter / OrthoTrac Escalations