cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joedindo
Premolar III

Chart notes getting mixed up

We've seen this randomly that a chart note written for patient A shows up in patient B's chart. Closing out of PW fixes this issue but the confusion it causes in the middle of a patient's appointment erodes confidence in PW.  I can't reproduce the problem after that and I have a video to prove it. How to fix?  

0 Kudos
Reply
5 Replies
jdowner
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Chart notes getting mixed up

Good morning @joedindo 

There are actually two settings to look at for this. 

1) When in the chart if the option for "Show image viewer" is unchecked so that on the lower left it shows note content instead of image thumbnails, it has been known to show the note contents for previously opened patient's who had notes added instead of the selected note. It might be best to leave that option checked and just use the "View" button below the progress notes. 

 

2) The option in the configuration of CS PracticeWorks for "Allow multiple sessions of the Charting Module" should correct it all together though.  We would want to disable this feature. 

To disable it, open the Configuration of PracticeWorks screen, select Setup > General configuration > Charting Module > Allow multiple sessions of the Charting Module, and change the "Value" field entry to "Yes."

This will force the Charting module app to fully close every time a chart is closed instead of allowing it to stay partially loaded in the background while the main PracticeWorks application is running. 

*note: If you are running a dual database, you'll want to disable it on both database settings.

 

Johnathan Downer | Technical Support Analyst
0 Kudos
Reply
joedindo
Premolar III

Re: Chart notes getting mixed up

Thanks for the quick response. Much appreciated!!!

The Show Image Viewer is unchecked on all workstations. BTW, I've personally confirmed that...

As for the configuration setting, do you mean to say that it should be set to "Yes"?  As in Yes do allow multiple charting sessions? 

0 Kudos
Reply
jdowner
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Chart notes getting mixed up


@joedindo wrote:

 

As for the configuration setting, do you mean to say that it should be set to "Yes"?  As in Yes do allow multiple charting sessions? 


Interestingly and oddly, the "Yes" option disables the feature for allowing multiple charting sessions. You would want to set it to "Yes.' 

Setting this should make it not matter about the setting for "Show image viewer" since it would make the chart fully close and drop all linked data files each time the chart is closed.  That option was mainly a part of our observations when the incorrect note contents is being seen. 

Johnathan Downer | Technical Support Analyst
0 Kudos
Reply
mbusinelle
Premolar I

Re: Chart notes getting mixed up

We have this same issue.  Do you have to do option 2 on each individual workstation?  

0 Kudos
Reply
jdowner
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Chart notes getting mixed up

@mbusinelle

 

It is possible to set the setting for "Allow multiple sessions of the charting module" as an office-wide setting. it would look like this with the option for "Setting for all workstations" selected then set to YES. 

jdowner_0-1622652357233.png

 

Johnathan Downer | Technical Support Analyst
0 Kudos
Reply