cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
abledentistry
Canine II

Report for deleted notes?

Jump to solution

Can anyone tell me if there is a way we can run a report to see deleted notes? As we are moving to chartless, we have just discovered that the progress notes can be deleted and our doctor doesn't like that feature. He would love if there was a way to print a report showing deleted notes. 

Thank you. 

0 Kudos
Reply
3 Replies
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Report for deleted notes?

Jump to solution

@tsalcido or @bert  do you have any suggestions? 

0 Kudos
Reply
CS Dental Employee
CS Dental Employee

Re: Report for deleted notes?

Jump to solution

The closest to the request would be under the Security.

First under Security Access Requirements you would have to make sure that Correct Progress notes is tuned to a number level and Always or On Success is selected. This will ensure the item is logged into the Audit History. (go to File>security>edit access requirements)

PW security.png

To a print a filtered report go to File > Security> View Main Security Log

PW Security Audit log.png

Check the box date range and Enter the dates. Next select Events and Locate "Progress Notes Entry Corrected" under Event Type -Charting.  Select and click OK (The list is in alphabetical order by Event Type)

PW Security Filter.png

PW Event type.png

Click Apply to the Filter on the window.

PW apply filter button.png

PW Audit Event.png

Click Print to print out report.

PW Audit Report.png

 

Please keep in mind that this would include all progress notes that have been removed for the date range entered. 

 

Moderator
Moderator

Re: Report for deleted notes?

Jump to solution

One thing to add on to that is the security log will not show the details of what was in the note, only that one was corrected. Which could also mean that the date was changed, or that if it were the same day the note was created the contents of the note were edited. 

Unfortunately, when a note is deleted from PracticeWorks it fully removes it from the data files so we cannot recover it, except to restore from a copy of the office's backup. 

 

It is possible to change the required access level of being able to delete a note from the chart. by default, it is set to 0 so anyone who has access to the chart can correct the entry and remove it.  However, changing the access level to this event will also make it so that the users who don't meet the required level unable to correct any entry from the progress notes in the chart, regardless of the type of entry. 

Johnathan Downer | Technical Support Analyst