cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tmslaug2
Premolar I

Viewing connected users/devices

We contract with a couple of 3rd party vendors that use a PracticeWorks license.  On occasion this has been an issue with the number of connected users and our providers being logged out of PW.  Is there a way to view/monitor PW connected users or devices?  What about prioritizing connections so that providers are never disconnected unless they log out?

0 Kudos
Reply
3 Replies
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Viewing connected users/devices

The only possible way to see what users/devices are still connected into PracticeWorks is via the Pervasive monitor on the server. 

 

To open it you would need to go to the Windows start/application menu. Either search for "Monitor" and you'll either fine "PSQL monitor" or just "Monitor" with a clipboard looking icon, or scroll through the apps list and locate the "Pervasive" or "Pervasive PSQL 11" folder, expand it, then Utilities, then select and open "PSQL monitor" or "Monitor."

Once the window opens you'll click on the Microkernal menu and choose the second option for Active Users. Here you will be able to see the different sessions/users that are connected into the PracticeWorks data at that time. Third party softwares that connect in are listed as "SRDE: Anonymous"

0 Kudos
Reply
cabaa99
Canine III

Re: Viewing connected users/devices

As a follow up, how can we force to disconnect the open sessions at a given time? We found that sometimes staff (or a remote worker) leaves a session opened overnight and that creates different issues next day.

Is there a way to use the command prompt on the server to tell PW or Pervasive to shut down all the connections in the most graceful way? I understand any non-saved work will be lost, but that's not the problem for us.

0 Kudos
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Viewing connected users/devices

It is possible to clear out all sessions at one time after hours by having a scheduled task set up that would restart the two Pervasive services.  Once they reset it will clear out any connections at the time to the data files.  Any third party software that is set to sync or auto connect into the data will be able to do so again once the services finish restarting.