We have recently had a change of principal dentist, as our previous has now semi-retired.
He has over 2000 patients and they all need to be transferred over to the new dentist.
Is there a way of doing this in bulk rather than click on each individual patient and doing it manually as it would be a lot easier if we could just do it all at once.
If you delete a dentist from the "users" section of R4, it will ask you where you want to transfer all the patients to, this will move in bulk all the patients to another dentist, including all the appointments as well.
However, you will then not be able to access that dentist any more, any outstanding NHS claims will not be able to be sent, and you will not be able to see previous financial information for that dentist.
As you said he is Semi Retired, i am guessing it would be best not to delete him so he would still be able to see patients, in which case, no there is not a way to do this.
If you decide to delete the user, (make a backup first) but login as an administrator to R4, go to the main menu of R4, select Users, highlight the Dentist, and then from the right hand menu click delete user.
When it prompts where you want to move patients to, select the correct dentist and click ok.
Please be aware, this is a one way change, it is not possible to move the patients back once they have been moved. As deleting the new dentist to move them would also move any other patients they already had assigned to them.
Hope that helps.