We have the same problem. This started happening after our last update to version 16. We used to be able to delete an Account, and then the prompts would ask us to also delete the Patient(s). With version 16, Softdent will delete the Account but not the Patient. And once the Patient has no Account, you can't do anything with the "floating" Patient.