cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cromfs
Premolar II

8.11.4.144 WinOMS upgrade

Jump to solution

8.11.4.144 WinOMS upgrade-now if all you do is open and EMR to read it and don't make any changes, it still prompts you to ask if you want to save.  It didn't do this before-only when you actually made changes.

5 Replies
CS Dental Employee
CS Dental Employee

Re: 8.11.4.144 WinOMS upgrade

Jump to solution

Thanks for bringing this to our attention.  qadanielle‌ - can you confirm this behavior?

0 Kudos
Reply
CS Dental Employee
CS Dental Employee

Re: 8.11.4.144 WinOMS upgrade

Jump to solution

Hello, the feature you are describing is an enhancement implemented in CS WinOMS v8.11.3.  Prior to v8.11.3 if you close an EMR Note or Consent form with the "X" there was no prompt to save the document. Although the correct way to save changes in an EMR Note or Consent is to click the save/done button, quite frequently and by natural reflex the doctor will click on the "X" instead. This action will close the EMR note/consent form without any changes saved. Doctors frequently reported working on a note or consent for a length of time and will hit the "X" instead of Save/Done. Immediately without any warning their changes are gone and there is no recourse to retrieve the lost note hitting the "X". That warranted a prompt when the "X" is used resembling the same or similiar text as the Cancel button which you have described.  To view this enhancement and others I encourage you to visit the Carestream website www.carestreamdental.com under Support > System Requirements. 

0 Kudos
Reply
cromfs
Premolar II

Re: 8.11.4.144 WinOMS upgrade

Jump to solution

This is a bug though not an enhancement. The enhancement was working on our old release. Now when you made zero changes it still prompts you to save. This is incorrect.

0 Kudos
Reply
CS Dental Employee
CS Dental Employee

Re: 8.11.4.144 WinOMS upgrade

Jump to solution

Tara, I agree. It seems like it shouldn't be doing that, specifically when nothing has changed.

paula1 -- would you please create a defect for this and assign a CR# to it?

OK -- I have gotten a walkthrough of the behavior you are describing.  Paula is correct, there were recent changes made to that window so that when you click on the X it no longer "just closes."  Unfortunately, now it prompts regardless of whether any changes were made.  And here is where I agree with you, Tara -- this behavior is different from other places in WinOMS: if you open up an existing note and make no changes, then click the X, the software will close without a prompt.  If you make a change, the software will prompt you.  

That said, we have revised the entire window in the upcoming version of software.  That window now works totally differently, and the problem as you report it is completely eliminated.  We are going to be starting a beta test of this version of software very soon... would you like to participate?  Let me know.

0 Kudos
Reply
CS Dental Employee
CS Dental Employee

Re: 8.11.4.144 WinOMS upgrade

Jump to solution

I understand your point of view especially if you haven't changed anything. On the other hand it is a safe proof way of not losing your document even if you put a click in it.  Prior to v8.11.3 you would lose everything there was no prompt. It appears the software doesn't have a distinction between editing and viewing, so if you double click to open or hit edit to open, the software thinks you are editing and has to have a way to confirm.  The good thing is there is a solution which should help to eliminate the reason for the customer to have to open to view the note with the new EMR Refresh window in upcoming WinOMS v8.12 - ETA early 2nd qtr -- 

0 Kudos
Reply