When you are deleting a patient from Orthotrac, how are you keeping a permanent record of their treatment (for legal purposes) and how long are you keeping it?
In Orthotrac, once you delete a patient, they are fully deleted.
Each state has their own set of rules that dictates how long you are required to keep a medical chart record. I believe the same rule applies to a paper chart as an electronic health record.
Sr. Project Line Manager
We never remove or delete a patient that had treatment. We only remove patients with no treatment history, i.e. mistakenly made duplicates, complete no shows that have had many recalls, etc. Anyone with treatment history always gets saved.
For what reason are you wanting to delete them?
matt.ackerman or rhondacorley- can one of you assist?
Good day Misty (firstname.lastname@example.org),
Obviously, this question was intended for the community in general, to get an idea of other offices' practices. I will just remark that Support has spoken to offices that keep physical records for a period of five years after the patient has ended treatment, and other offices that keep them for up to ten years. I don't believe there is an explicitly written HIPAA rule anywhere.
In our experience, most offices will either follow the policy that Kathy mentioned, and simply not delete the patient from Orthotrac at all so their information will always be available; or they will delete them from Orthotrac and then keep the physical records onsite for a period of two or three years. After that two or three years passes, they will then have the physical records moved to an offsite storage facility. This way the records are still available, but they are not cluttering up the office's normal storage / workflow.
Phil Carter / Orthotrac Escalation
Another option instead of deleting a patients record, you may consider putting them in an "inactive" status. You then can put a ZZ in front of their last name field in the Patient Information Screen. This will allow you to search inactive patients with the ZZ in alphabetical order and leaves your Active patient in alphabetical order. This will filter your active patients from inactive.
It is also recommended that when assigning your patients an account number you use the two digit year as the first 2 numbers. It is an easy identifier of when that patient was added as a new patient. If you do delete patients or store their records outside the data base after the recommended time you are required to keep their official record, you can locate the records easily by the account number.
We put them in inactive status, but they throw off our statistical profile. We have been with O-Trac since 2003 so that is our largest status. Is there any way to isolate a status from that report?
Good day Shelia (shelia),
The Statistical Profile report can be limited by specific location or for specific doctor, but will always include all risks, billing types, patient types and statuses on the report. This is hard coded and can't be changed, I'm afraid.
If you want to run a report for patients by status, you can do that by going to Contact Experts and selecting all statuses except the Inactive one, or do a patient tracking report and choose the option "Omit Patients With Specific Status Codes".
Retrieving data ...