cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
drdoug
Canine II

Delete an alert on a previously edited note

Is it possible to remove the "alert" of a chart note (by un-checking the box in the "Edit note contents" dialog) AFTER a note has already been edited the day after the note was created?

Here's the situation:

We mark an alert on a chart note, so it comes up as an alert.

On a later calendar day, if we've "deleted" the note, the note still shows up in the alerts (now, as red) and cannot be deleted.  It is permanently listed as an "Alert".

We learned long ago that the best way to "Delete" a note with an alert is to "Edit note Contents" and uncheck the Alert box.  If this was not done, however, then the note remains stuck in alerts and cannot be deleted.  We have a many of these old notes we would like to delete.

Has Carestream ever addressed this issue?

PWorks 9.1.0.58

0 Kudos
Reply
3 Replies
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Delete an alert on a previously edited note

Hello

Just to confirm, you mean that when you view the Alerts list, by clicking the [!] button, you still see the deleted/removed alert note showing there in red?

If yes, that is by design.  You cannot fully delete a note from the patient's history so the system changes it's status to red to indicate it has had a correct entry > remove entry action applied to it.  As a red entry though it would not cause the Alert list to display when launching the chart on its own. Other active Alerts would have to be on the list. 

 

To make it not display the red entries you would need to click on the Setup button below the progress notes list on the chart and then uncheck the box for "Show corrections" and then click Save.  This will make it so the removed progress note entries no longer are visible on the progress notes list as well as the Alerts list. 

There is no need to remove the Alert checkbox from the note itself. 

Johnathan Downer | Technical Support Analyst
0 Kudos
Reply
drdoug
Canine II

Re: Delete an alert on a previously edited note

The "Show corrections" box is unchecked, but the red notes are still on the list when clicking the [!] button.

If I could remove the Alert checkbox from the red notes, then they wouldn't show up on the alert list.

0 Kudos
Reply
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Delete an alert on a previously edited note

If the option for "Show corrections" is unchecked and it's still showing as a red entry, I'd want to connect in to take a look at it at that point as it should not be doing that. When would be a good time to call so I can get in and take a look?

Johnathan Downer | Technical Support Analyst
0 Kudos
Reply