jpisariktnosi

Medical/Dental Billing Issues

Discussion created by jpisariktnosi on Nov 13, 2017
Latest reply on Nov 20, 2017 by jpisariktnosi

I find that the WinOMS workspace section has been quite ignored by the development team. For instance, the billing section feels like a dental software that you just added a few features to so we could bill medical. Here are some of my major issues having billed medical and dental in the software for the past 4 years. From what I understood after speaking to several people at the summit, there is no other way to do these than the work-arounds noted below. Sorry, this might be lengthy!

1) The system automatically defaults to sending to medical first or dental. Oral surgery isn't that cut and dry, and that button should be unnecessary. If a patient as 2 dental insurances, the system defaults to billing to insurance listed first in the demographics. It would be great if it did this for ANY insurances- whatever is on top for that particular patient- be it a medical or dental insurance- gets billed first. In essence, there is no need for an system-wide decision that ALL claims go dental or medical first. For example, a patient has all thirds out under anesthesia and they have medical coverage. The system automatically bills to dental. I would have to go to the ledger, highlight the line items, edit, select the medical insurance to bill, then go into the claims area and change the medical claim to submitting electronically (it sets up automatically this way as going paper. If I want it to go electronically, I have to set the claim up by dragging over the medical insurance on every single line item), then stop the dental claim from going out. Since not all accounts are like this, I spend the last hour of my day opening every patient account we saw that day to see if their claim needs special attention.